Monster Fun! Bday and Classroom Ideas

So this post may not include as many teaching resources, but had to be shared.  My son’s first birthday was this past weekend and it was a success.  The theme: little monsters.  My son is definitely not a little monster.  He is super sweet and such a good boy.  LOVE him.  I just thought the little monsters were cute.  🙂  I found these monster invitations at Party City which prompted the theme.

Here is a pic.

invite

 Then in talking with the Speech-Language Pathologist at my school, who also happens to be an incredible baker, I decided to make monster cupcakes.  She gave me lots of great tips and the cupcakes turned out awesome!  She has a baking blog, which is really cool.  Here is the link.

Sweet Your Heart Out

And here are my monster cupcakes.

Monster Cupcakes copy

Tadaa!

More pics…

 DSCN2241DSCN2242DSCN2240

I was pretty proud of my monsters.  I’d like to create monster themed teaching resources to use for the fall.  I have this book, The Monster Who Loved Books, by Keith Faulkner and illustrated by Jonathan Lambert.

monsters 004

It’s really cute.  It’s adventurous and touches on different genres.  It is also a pop-up!

monsters 005

I love the picture on the back cover.

And I found these monster stickers at Crayons to Computers.

monsters 003

So these should be fun to use for a monster activity.  I will have to work on an idea this summer.

Lastly, I wanted to share that tomorrow, Thursday May 2, is National Day of Prayer.  If you are a teacher, I encourage you to pray for your students. You might be the only one who does.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erica says:

    You’re cupcakes were so cute! You did a great job on them! As for monster books, I also love “Go Away Big Green Monster,” but it might be better for the pk-k crowd. I can’t wait to see what sort of monster stuff you come up with!

    Like

  2. ckeimer says:

    Thank you! I loved making them. 🙂 I will have to check that book out. Sounds like a good one! I’ll be sure to post my monster stuff. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

