Fruit Smoothies for Sale {Counting Money Unit}

I had so much fun making this little unit.  It was created for teaching students how to identify money, count money and solve story problems involving money. It has a fruit smoothie stand theme and a variety of activities for students to practice money skills.  Click on the picture for the link to the product in my store!

original-1289225-1

medium-1289225-2 medium-1289225-3 medium-1289225-4

Contents:
1 page highlighting the 2nd grade standard covered
6 posters for teaching students money identification
(There is 1 poster for penny, nickel, dime, quarter, one dollar bill and five dollar bill.)
18 money total pages that start very simple and get more complex
(There are 4 pages of single coin counting, 4 pages of mixed review for single coin counting, 4 pages of groups of mixed coins, and 2 pages money totals with coins, one dollar bills and five dollar bills.)
10 money draw pages that start simple and get more complex
16 pages of money matching flashcards (96 total flashcards)
(Flashcards range from 1 cent up to 10 dollars and can be used in groups based on students’ present levels of performance in counting money.)
2 Smoothie Prices pages where students write the smoothie name to match the amount of money shown
2 Smoothie Prices pages where students draw the amount of money needed to buy the smoothie name given
1 Smoothie Menu Page
10 pages of Story Problems based on the Smoothie Menu
(Story problems start off with simple one step addition problems and become more complex with multi-step problems involving subtraction and making change.)

I created this unit to use to with students at various levels from coin identification to multi-step word problems. I will use these materials for special education and for RTI intervention. It is pretty comprehensive for teaching students how to count money and solve word problems involving counting money and can be used in the general education curriculum as well.

I hope you love it! If you do, please rate me and follow me. I really appreciate it!

Thank you so much!
Courtney

The clipart used in this product was created by:
Erica Haber

I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of
People living in poverty

Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”

He said, “I did, I created you”

Matthew West

Leave a Reply

